Asian Meeting of the Econometric Society (AMES 2012)

1 The Econometric Society

1.1 Aims and objectives

The Econometric Society is the most prestigious learned society in the field of economics, with a world-wide membership. Its main object is to promote studies that aim at a unification of the theoretical-quantitative and empirical-quantitative approach to economic problems and that are penetrated by constructive and rigorous thinking similar to that which has come to dominate in the natural sciences. It operates as a purely scientific organization, without any political, social, financial or nationalistic allegiance or bias.

The four main activities of the Society are the publication of a journal, *Econometrica*; the publication of a monograph series in collaboration with the Cambridge University Press; the organization of scientific meetings in six regions of the world (including a World Congress every five years); and the conduct of elections for Fellow of the Econometric Society, an honorary designation highly valued by members of the economics profession.

The Society is a self-supporting nonprofit organization and operates on behalf of its members. The Society does not receive grants or aid from any outside organization, although some regions of the Society do raise outside funds for support of their regional meetings. The Society uses its financial surplus to finance travel grants to its quinquennial World Congress and to finance extra activities on behalf of members, such as a Members' Directory.¹

1.2 Brief history of the Society

The Econometric Society was founded in 1930, at the initiative of the Yale economist Irving Fisher (the Society's first president) and the Norwegian economist Ragnar

¹All the material in this section has been extracted from the Society's website http://www.econometricsociety.org/society.asp. Please visit the website for other details regarding the Society.

Frisch, who some forty years later was the first economist (together with Jan Tinbergen) to be awarded the Nobel Prize.²

As is evident from the history of Economics and the Econometric Society, an overwhelming majority of Nobel laureates in Economics and other intellectual leaders of the field have been office-bearers and fellows of the Society and have been plenary speakers at its meetings.

2 AMES 2012

AMES 2012 is the Asian regional meeting of the Econometric Society and it is coming to India for the first time.

2.1 Where and when

The host for AMES 2012 is the Department of Economics, Delhi School of Economics (DSE), University of Delhi. Sessions of AMES 2012 will be held at DSE and on the campus of St. Stephen's College.

EventDateBeginning of paper submissionsJune 1, 2012End of paper submissionsSeptember 30, 2012Deadline for decisionsOctober 15, 2012Conference inaugurationDecember 19, 2012 (Wednesday)Conference beginsDecember 20, 2012 (Thursday)Conference endsDecember 22, 2012 (Saturday)

Table 1: AMES 2012 Timeline

2.2 The Steering Committee

This is the apex committee that will interface with the Programme Committee and the Local Organization Committee. It bears overall responsibility for the successful

²The above material in this section is extracted from the Society's website http://www.econometricsociety.org/society.asp.

conduct of the conference. It consists of

- Pami Dua Chair of the Steering Committee (Head, Department of Economics, DSE)
- Santosh Panda (Director, DSE)
- Abhijit Banerji (Executive Director, Centre for Development Economics, DSE)
- Sudhir Shah Secretary of the Steering Committee
- Arunava Sen (Indian Statistical Institute, Delhi)

2.3 The Programme Committee

This committee will select and contact invited speakers, select submitted papers and prepare the academic programme for AMES 2012. The Chair of this committee will select other members of the Programme Committee to assist him in the work of this committee. The Chair of this committee is

Vijay Krishna (Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pennsylvania, USA)

2.4 The Local Organization Committee

This committee will take care of various organizational tasks required for hosting AMES 2012. It consists of all faculty members of the Department of Economics, Delhi School of Economics, University of Delhi. The convenors of this committee are

- Pami Dua (Head, Department of Economics, DSE)
- Sudhir Shah (Department of Economics, DSE)

3 Programme of AMES 2012

The three Plenary Speakers are as follows:

- The EXIM Bank Lecture
 Avinash Dixit, Princeton University
- The Presidential Lecture

 Jean-Charles Rochet, University of Zurich
- The Marschak Lecture
 Andrew Postlewaite, University of Pennsylvania

The other Invited Speakers are as follows:

- Dirk Bergemann, Yale University
- Markus Brunnermeier, Princeton University
- Christophe Chamley, Boston University
- Olivier Compte, Paris School of Economics
- Hanning Fang, University of Pennsylvania
- Jacob Goeree, University of Zurich
- Hidehiko Ichimura, University of Tokyo
- M. Scott Taylor, University of Calgary
- Yoon-Jae Whang, Seoul National University
- Myrna Wooders, Vanderbilt University

The Programme of contributed research presentations will be ready by the end of November. Submission to the Contributed Papers part of the Programme is limited to members of the Econometric Society.

4 Contact details

```
Postal address
   Department of Economics
   Delhi School of Economics
   University of Delhi
   Delhi 110007
   India
Telephones
   [+91] 11 2766 7005
   [+91] 11 2766 653 3 (resp. 4, 5)
   [+91] 11 2766 670 3 (resp. 4, 5)
Fax
   [+91] 11 2766 7159
Email
   Pami Dua: dua@econdse.org
   Sudhir Shah: sudhir@econdse.org
Web
   http://econdse.org/ames2012/
```